Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
2012 Award Winners
Share |


FLASLA Recognizes Outstanding State Landscape Architecture Work

Orlando, FL, June 28, 2012---The Florida Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects held its Annual Design Awards Gala on July 29, 2012 at the Annual Conference in St. Augustine, Florida.  This year the Florida Chapter received 91 award submittals from Florida registered professionals and students for projects across the state and around the world.  We congratulate all of this year's award recipients for their outstanding work on behalf of the landscape architecture profession.  

The 26 recipients of the 2012 Chapter Design Awards included:

Professional Awards

Frederic B. Stresau Award

EDSA for "Castiglion del Bosco" 

Conceptual Category

  • Award of Merit: Morris Architects | MorrisTerra (Orlando) for Rio 2016 Olympic Park Masterplan in Rio de Janeiro, Brasil.

Institutional Category

  • Award of Honor: DWY Landscape Architects (Sarasota) for Cancer Support Community Florida Suncoast in Sarasota.

Open Space Category

  •  Award of Honor: Thomas Balsley Associates (New York, NY) and RS&H (Tampa) for Curtis Hixon Waterfront Park in Tampa.
  • Award of Honor: studio JEFRE LA (Orlando) for "Re-Flect” in Philadelphia, PA.
  • Award of Honor: Stantec Planning and Landscape Architecture, LLC (Tampa) for Washington Street Park in Tampa.
  • Award of Merit: EDSA, Inc. (Fort Lauderdale) for English Park Scenic Overlook and Boat Ramp in Owensboro, KY.
  • Award of Merit: EDSA, Inc. (Fort Lauderdale) for Mitch McConnell Riverwalk and Plaza in Owensboro, KY.
  • Award of Merit: Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. (Sarasota) for Palmetto Park Road Improvements and Downtown Boca Raton Pedestrian Promenade in Boca Raton.

Planning & Analysis Category

  • Award of Honor: EDSA, Inc. (Fort Lauderdale) for Diamond Bay in Dalian City, Liaoning Province, People’s Republic of China.
  • Award of Honor: Perkins + Will (Atlanta, GA) for Innovation Square in Gainesville.

Preservation and Conservation Category

  • Award of Honor: Miller Legg (Fort Lauderdale) for Plantation Preserve in Plantation.

Research and Communications Category

  • Award of Honor: Falcon + Bueno (Coral Gables) for Vizcaya Museum and Gardens Cultural Landscape Report in Miami.
  • Award of Merit: HM Design (Fort Lauderdale) for Authentic Ecolodges – book.
  • Award of Merit: Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. (Sarasota) for Urban Forestry Masterplan Update in Bradenton.

Residential Category

  • Award of Excellence: DWY Landscape Architects (Sarasota) for Boca Grande Residence on Gasparilla Island.
  • Award of Honor: Raymond Jungles, Inc. (Miami) for Miami Beach Garden in Miami Beach.
  • Award of Merit: DWY Landscape Architects (Sarasota) for Bird Key Residence in Sarasota.
  • Award of Merit: Redmon Design Company (Maitland) for New American Home 2012 in Winter Park.

Resort & Entertainment Category

  • Award of Excellence: EDSA, Inc. (Fort Lauderdale) for Castiglion del Bosco in Montalcino, Tuscany, Italy.
  • Award of Honor: EDSA, Inc. (Fort Lauderdale) for Lopesan Baobab Resort in Gran Canaria, Canary Islands, Spain.
  • Award of Honor: EDSA, Inc. (Fort Lauderdale) for One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.
  • Award of Honor: EDSA, Inc. (Fort Lauderdale) for Viceroy Anguilla in Barnes Bay, West End, Anguilla.

Student Awards

  • Award of Merit: Jose M. Alvarez (Student | Florida International University, Miami) for Mitigating MineScapes.
  • Award of Merit: Devin Cejas (Student | Florida International University, Miami) for Parque Sagrada Familia.
  • Award of Merit: Devin Cejas (Student | Florida International University, Miami) for Peeping Streets.
  • Award of Merit: Devin Cejas (Student | Florida International University, Miami) for Serenity in Scale.

Environmental Sustainability Honor

DWY Landscape Architects for "Cancer Support Community Florida Suncoast" 

Additional Information & 2012 Design Awards Committee

For questions or more information, contact:

Matt Allen, Associate ASLA (2012 Chair)

2012 Committee Members
Matt Allen, Associate ASLA - Chair
Kenn Bates, ASLA
Mary Bates, ASLA
Andrew Sheppard, ASLA

Community Search
Sign In

MISSION STATEMENT Leading, educating, and participating in the careful stewardship, wise planning, and artful design of our cultural and natural environments.